

## **SUBALTERN'S SWORD**

References: PWOR Unit Awards

### **GENERAL**

- 1. The Subaltern's Sword is awarded annually to a deserving subaltern of the Regiment. This sword finds it home on display within the Officers Mess. There is no higher mark of distinction among the Subalterns of the Regiment, than to be awarded this sword.
- 2. The original sword was gifted to the officers of the Regiment by one of our most revered Commanding Officers, Honorary Lieutenant Colonel J.D. McQueen, CD. This sword is traditionally presented annually at the Regimental Birthday Dinner. In the mid 1990's however a break-in occurred at the officer's mess, and Honorary Lieutenant Colonel McQueen's sword was among the items stolen. The Regiment was blessed by our former Regimental Chaplain, the Reverend Canon Major Alexander Wakeling, CD, with the gift of his father's sword as a replacement. His father, Captain A.J. Wakeling, served in the Regiment during the 1930s, and can be seen carrying this very same sword as a Lieutenant in some of our historical photos.
- 3. While the sword carried now is that of the Wakeling family, the award designation still stands as J.D. McQueen, with the blessing of Padre Wakeling. The citation is as follows.

Subalterns Sword
Presented by
LCol J.D. McQueen CD
On behalf of
The Regimental Advisory Council
To the
Outstanding Junior Officer

#### STORAGE AND USE

- 4. The sword shall be stored at all times in the Officers' Mess.
- 5. The sword may be carried by the current recipient during any Regimental parade where officer are carrying arms. If the current award holder is not on parade when the swords are to be carried, a previous recipient may carry it instead. No one who has not been a recipient of the Subalterns Sword shall be permitted to carry it.

# PAST RECIPIENTS nccss of Wales' Own Regiment

1984 – 1985	Lt R.D. McIlroy
1985 – 1986	Lt J.C. Cooke
1986 – 1987	Lt W.C. Gilmour
1988 – 1989	Lt A.C. Vervuurt

## THE PRINCESS OF WALES' OWN REGIMENT – HONOURS AND AWARDS



1990 – 1991	Lt N. Curcumelli Rodostamo
1991 – 1992	Lt. M.N. Mercier
1992 – 1993	Lt C.D. Kent
1993 – 1994	Lt J.M. Gallant
1994 – 1995	Lt M.W. Grills
1995 – 1996	Lt J.R. Hatch
1996 – 1997	Lt L.A. Licharson
1997 – 1998	Lt A.M.J. Zimmer
2003 – 2004	Lt S. Saunders
2004 – 2005	Lt Braybrook
2005 – 2006	Lt D.G. Lucas
2006 – 2007	Lt R.J. Bruce
2007 – 2008	Lt A. Parker
2008 – 2009	2Lt A.R. Pittet
2009 – 2010	Lt N. Roadhouse
2010 – 2011	OCdt J.G. Brogan
2011 – 2012	Lt S. Mitchell
2012 – 2013	Lt C. Davey
2013 – 2014	2Lt A. Townshend-Carter
2014 – 2015	OCdt R. Moll



The Princess of Wales' Own Regiment